This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Player Framework support for Win 8.1 - how hard it is?

Feb 19, 2014 at 5:11 AM
Is this something that can be expected soon?
I need it and could probably try to port it from the phone - but I have no media experience...
Coordinator
Feb 19, 2014 at 9:26 AM
I'm not sure exactly how much work would be involved. I started looking at it a few weeks ago, but did not get any further than concluding that the plugin model had changed. The last go 'round, it only took a couple of hours to get from not having worked with Player Framework before to a working plugin for WP8 (and, I've heard, the same code pretty much just works for WP7 as well, barring a couple of trivial fixes to get it to compile). Most of that time was spent figuring out how the plugins are supposed to work. An example custom-stream plugin--something that implements a Microsoft.PlayerFramework.IPlugin for a Windows.Media.Core.MediaStreamSource or IMediaSource--for Win 8.1's Player Framework would go a long way towards simplifying things. There may be something like that in the PF source code, but I didn't see one in the quick glance that I did take.

The plugin would do something along the lines of creating an instance of MediaStreamFascade, giving an IHttpClients (just "new HttpClients()", unless you need something odd) and a callback to receive the media stream source to the constructor. This is what the WP8 callback looks like:
     public Task SetSourceAsync(IMediaStreamSource mediaStreamSource)
     {
         Debug.WriteLine("MediaElementWrapper.SetSourceAsync()");
         var mss = (MediaStreamSource)mediaStreamSource;
         return Dispatcher.DispatchAsync(() => SetSource(mss));
     }